A poem I wrote a while ago

Psalm at Gakaabikaang

I stand at the confluence of the rivers and cry out

“My friends have busied themselves with their households,

Yet I have no household to maintain.

The wind whispers strife in the city,

Thieves and bandits patrol her walls,

There is no safety within or without;

What can one man do against their might?

Blessed art Thou o Lord, teach me Thy statutes.”

I turn to the Lord, my helper and rescuer

And pour out my complaint before Him.

I pour out my supplication,

My head aches, there is no strength left for me.

My companions have been separated,

I have no place for rest.

Though there is no strength in the city,

Your foundation is secure,

Your foot shall not be shaken,

Your house will be built up.

Like the walls of the city it shall endure,

From age to age shall your household prosper.

May the Glory of the Lord endure forever,

May the Lord rejoice in His works,

He looks on the earth and it trembles,

He touches the mountains and they smoke.

I will sing unto the Lord as long as I live,

I will sing praises to my God as long as I have being.

Blessed is the man who hopes in the Lord,

keeping His commandments,

for if he is merciful he will obtain mercy,

and he will be prosperous when he is generous

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com