Getting used to new digs

Hey Gemini,

So I've settled into an apartment for a few months while I'm studying Byzantine music. I'm living in a suburb (more like a neighborhood) τῆς πόλεως very near to the University. My classes will start soon but in the mean time I've been rather touristic by visiting museums and landmarks. Μη βίζιτις λα Ἀκρόπολον, Μουζεϊον «Μπενάκη»αν, ϰ μπαταλϸίπον (οκεϊ, κροζωϸίπο) Άβερωφ. Λα βιζίτῳ έστις ἰντερέσᾳ, ταμεν μη σέντας ϊομ δα ἑϊμβέον. Τίον δίριτε, κιέλ προφίτους μη, σε μη τϸηουτάγε πένσις πρη ίον, κίον πόβους έστη; κίαμ μη ρεΐρος ἑΐμε, μη ϸιν πέτος πορ ρὲνκόντη κουν κάφω.

I don't feel like a complete foreigner here, but there's a lot different. They don't cook with dill here (instead: oregano), the hard liquor is made with grapes not plums or potato, and the weather is perfect all the time (even when it rains). At the very least I know what's happening during Liturgy and that they probably won't publish exact schedules for stuff like they do at home.

I'm excited to take some language classes next week, but I've been having some trouble waking up on time. I've decided to run an experiment: the apartment has privacy doors that roll down like garage doors over the glass doors that lead to the balcony. I'm going to keep one of the privacy doors cracked open so that sunlight floods the room in the morning, because when they're down the room gets pretty dark.

It's late here now, and I'm thinking about spending 3 hours to get to an island and 3 hours back tomorrow. I'd really like to make it and it's a long way there, so I'm going to bed. I'll write more soon!

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com