Re: Why would students use Gemini ♊️?

Lettuce asks a good question: why would compsci students use Gemini?

My answer is: as a toy protocol to understand the basics of networking and as a model for very simple and fast software. I think of my syntax classes, which introduced us to the structure of a complex sentence by adding more complexity as the class went on. Initially, all of our syntax trees (sentence diagrams) were simple and pretty imprecise. They didn’t need to be complex because we hadn’t learned about the possible consequences of such rigid simplicity. As the class progressed and as we learned more, we were able to understand abbreviated trees and recognize why certain things are complex, as well as different positions on complexity (e.g. I think there are some Scandinavian maximalists who give every morpheme a discrete marker; some minimalists argue that a top level S phrase marker is ok iirc).

Anyway, I think Gemini is useful as a teaching tool because it’s simple and concise.

I was also inspired by Solflo’s post.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com