Thoughts on Oppenheimer (2023)

I just saw Oppenheimer. What a film! It was probably the first film that I've gotten really immersed in. Some people disliked how quick the cuts are, but I loved it. I finally felt like I'd seen a film with a pace matching the speed of thought. I didn't feel patronized by the movie, and I was easily able to follow the different scenes as the film jumped between time periods.

Oppenheimer was so optimistic about how nuclear bombs would be thought about. I won't spoil the movie (thô you can read what he thought from many sources), but I will say it reminds me of the finvenkismo of the early Esperantistoj, who thought that Esperanto would solve war and promote cross-cultural acceptance instead of chauvinism. Evidente, la tuta mondo post Esperanto ne eniris denove al milito.

I'd like to see the movie again. It was really interesting, and made me reconsider some of my opinions. Most of the politicians (and USG in general) are portrayed in the film as corrupt and self-serving, except for the soldiers at Los Alamos. The characters are really complex, and I enjoyed how the film handled Oppenheimer's acquaintances and friends moving through his life and work at different points.

Mia vivo

Vivo progresas! Hodiaŭ mi kantis ĉe la kirko de Sankta Elizabet' Novamartira. Mi devas organizi mian ĉambron kaj mesaĝi pli kun la belulino. Preskaŭ ĉio estas bona, kaj mi min sentas kontenta.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com