Veneration of the Holy Cross; good news

Happy almost midpoint of Lent! Today is the veneration of the Holy Cross, which I think I wrote about last year.

Click here to read that post from last year.

And here’s an excellent rendition of the stichera for today by Capella Romana. Lyrics below:

Δεύτε Πιστοί, τό ζωοποιόν ξυλον προσκυνήσωμεν, εν ώ Χριστός ο Βασιλεύς τής δόξης, εκουσίως χείρας εκτείνας, ύψωσεν ημάς εις τήν αρχαίαν μακαριότητα, ούς πρίν ο εχθρός, δι' ηδονής συλήσας, εξορίστους Θεού πεποίηκε, Δεύτε Πιστοί, ξύλον προσκυνήσωμεν, δι' ού ηξιώθημεν, τών αοράτων εχθρών συντρίβειν τάς κάρας, Δεύτε πάσαι αι πατριαί τών εθνών, τόν Σταυρόν τού Κυρίου ύμνοις τιμήσωμεν, Χαίροις Σταυρέ τού πεσόντος Αδάμ η τελεία λύτρωσις, Εν σοί οι πιστότατοι Βασιλείς ημών καυχώνται, ως τή σή δυνάμει, Ισμαηλίτην λαόν κραταιώς υποτάττοντες, Σέ νύν μετά φόβου Χριστιανοί ασπαζόμενοι, τόν εν σοί προσπαγέντα Θεόν δοξάζομεν λέγοντες, Κύριε, ο εν αυτώ σταυρωθείς, ελέησον ημάς, ως αγαθός καί φιλάνθρωπος.

Good news

I’m definitely in the Byzantine music theory program! I met with two of my professors who tested my initial knowledge of the topic. I don’t know a lot, so they placed me in the beginners’ class, which I’m grateful for, as I truly am a beginner. I think of my experience with Byzantine music like having learned to speak a language, but never learning to read or write properly, so now I'm going to school to learn.

I’m excited to get started, and I’m hopeful that I’ll have a chance to study in-person eventually. I’m starting virtually because the school I’m learning from is far away, and it doesn’t make sense for me to move right now.

Ho ve, mi ne forgesu sendi al ŝi mesaĝon pri mia sukceso de eniranta la programo. Kaj un’ selfio, eble.

Anyway, that’s enough for now. I’m going to sleep. Good night!

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com