Feeling sad; career moves

Again, I'm sadpoasting. I talked today with a friend of mine who works in tech; he gave me some advice about finding a career and getting a job. The advice is good advice, but I'm feeling generally demoralized.

I think I know what happened—my ego was bruised by how poorly I was treated, and now I feel sorry for myself. I wasted my time working for that organization, and the way I was treated by the executive director N. P. has made me doubt myself. I'm (yet) angry and sad, and I feel inadequate from being let go. It's all pride on my part, and I'll move past it soon inshallah.

Anyway, the talk with my friend was productive and pleasant, he pointed me toward some ideas for next steps if I want to get involved in a technical job. I had thought that a position as a technical writer would be a good fit, but I'm less certain about that now; there are few opportunities and documentation is downplayed in favor of 'agile' (not sure what that means lol).

Next steps

I think this is what I should do next (in no particular order)

I know XeLaTeX pretty well, so I think learning a "more serious" language wouldn't be too hard. I could probably become a 'Cloud Practitioner' or something, who knows.

I should learn C.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com