Re: Gemlog and internet time

I received a nice email from Ernst, but something's not right with the account so I can't send a response. So instead, I'll just publish my reply here.

On Jul 19, 2022 AD, at 11:14 AM, Ernst R— <ernst_at_r—_at_n6zcf4rjwbfekz_w94t3341@icloud.com> wrote:

>

Greetings eph,
I read your Gemlog with delight and wanted to contact you about your usage of @xxx time, Internet Time.
My personal usage of .beat time/net time/internet time also still exists, and if you would like to, we could exchange about our "life with usage of Internet Time" and the occasional struggles associated with it :-)
I also don't know how much of a discussion-worthy subject this is to you or what priority 'net time has in your life, but it was great to see a fellow Internet Time user!
For me the struggle was often times about difficulty to use 'net time in programs/applications and using Internet Time raises an eyebrow with people oftentimes. I could not really find a way to integrate this into regular usage, have you found a way maybe? How are you handling this whole situation?
For your information, I have set up a collection of links about Internet Time, that you might find useful:

https://github.com/ERnsTL/awesome-internettime/

Best of greetings,
Ernst

Dear Ernst,

Thank you! I’m happy that you’re enjoying my posts! To be honest, I first heard of Internet Time when I had a Pebble watch a few years ago. Now I have a complication on my Apple Watch that gives me the .beat. I mostly use it to mark gemlog entries and as a ‘fuzzier’ way of keeping time. Also I don't want to do timezone conversions in my head 😎.

I do find it useful for international travel, moreso than GMT. Because Internet Time is so disconnected from the ‘real world’ it’s ideal for the liminal space that is the airport.

As for how I use it daily, I typically use it as an easy way to keep track of how much time I'm spending on a task. I have it around almost like a horological ornament. It's nice to use, though I only use it casually. I am happy that there's someone else out there taking notice!

Take care,

~eph

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com