In Transit

Saturday, July 16 @159; somewhere over the North Atlantic

Unfortunately, this airline’s network engineers know how to restrict access to just messaging. I keep getting incomplete headers whenever I try to connect to a Gemini server. I guess there’s a whitelist or something that allows certain domains only, e.g. WhatsApp, iMessage, &c.

Service on this flight has been excellent! The crew made an announcement at the start that they’re missing three (!) flight attendants but even as short staffed as they are right now, they’re doing an excellent job. The meal they served was barbecue chicken with potatoes and vegetables, and a side of couscous (I think) and feta. It was really good, the chicken was moist and the couscous was refreshing. It’s hard to pull off moist chicken on an airplane lol. I also had some whiskey with dinner. Surprisingly the 🥃 tasted a little sweet. It’s a brand that I never normally drink so perhaps that’s how it always is, though eating at altitude does change how things taste.

Mi sentis iomete soleca, sed mi devas memori ke, mi vere ne estas soleca. La kongreso estos semajno por rekonti novajn personojn kaj esti rekontanta. Amikoj miaj ŝercis kun mi ke mi edziĝus ĉar la konferenco mdr. Mi ne anticipas trovi edzinon je kongreso, nu ĉi estus tre mojosa. Dio kompatu!

Okej, kiam mi alvenigos al la unua flughaveno por atendaĵeto, estos matene – do nuntempe mi devas dormi.

Postdorme; @241

I slept a little bit. My left shoulder and side of my neck really really hurts; I think it’s from damage done in high school 🤷. The lights are turned up and the flight attendants are distributing coffee and breakfast. I wonder how this flight would be in first class with a flat bed to sleep on. Probably very relaxing, although I’m not complaining about the economy seat I have — it’s comfortable and the service is excellent.

I’m concerned about the price of flying and the ecological impact. Kvankam fluganto estas la plej efektiva metodo de vojaĝo, mi pensas ke la monda sistemo de komerca fluganto damaĝas forte la ekologian sistemon. Tamen ĉinaj fabrikoj ankaŭ forte damaĝas la sistemon ekologian kaj probable pli da damaĝo. Whatever lol, mi nur esperas por tason de kafo kaj korna bulko.

I’ll have only about an hour and a half to get to my next flight, so I hope security is expedient.

V samoleti ko konferencu

The second airline (Air France) I’m on today does not block Gemini access, which is pretty lucky for me lol. The aircraft is brand new and the sky is clear.

Viro apud mi tusis (kaj tusegis) fojfoje. Mi esperas ke li ne havas koronaviruson, ĉar liaj tusoj estis laŭta. Li kaj lia familio estas usonaj, ilia usoneco estas kiel aŭroro. Mi ne juĝas ilin, nur rimarkas :^)

I want to wash my hair lol.

The rest of the day

July 16, 2022 @856

I didn’t have a chance to stop and write for any length of time today, so I’ll recap what happened.

I got to where I needed to be and found the conference organizer. We chatted for a bit, picked up some more delegates, and ate some lunch. After lunch, we raced over to the train station and met a second set of delegates. Everybody so far has been great; I’m excited to learn more about them all. After meeting the second set of delegates, we took the train from the capital city to a city up north. The ride took about 2 hours and 30 minutes, give or take. I slept through a lot of it. I have a feeling that jetlag will hit me hard. Liturgy tomorrow morning will be good, I just hope I get up in time for it.

As we’re doing all this, I’m still in the clothes I put on a day or two ago. I felt so gross, and it was such a relief to take a shower. I started falling asleep as I wrote, so I went to bed and slept a solid 8 hours. Overall very good, just wish I could have taken a shower sooner.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com