I know that feel

I saw sud0nim's post about feeling alone. Sud0, I'd give you a hug, man. I know that feel, and I can tell you that it ebbs and flows. I know that envy, and it's like eating ashes. Missing – not the particular girl, but being in a relationship – makes me feel like I'm missing part of myself, like I lack the inside of my heart, or like I've been punched in the chest.

sud0nim — feeling alone again

What is to be done?

March forward and endure.

Personally, I read the Psalms, specifically Psalms 41 (42 in most Bibles), 45 (46), and 100 (99), though I don't think just reading the Psalms is a panacea. Working out helps, and so does talking about it with friends (in reasonable amounts). Moving on by simply doing other things works the best for me, but your mileage may vary. To stop moving and fall into a depressive state (not depression!!) is to invite acedia, i.e. the habitual sadness and unproductive, useless moping.

This doesn't mean that I mindlessly run away or pretend that I don't feel anything, I just do my best not to dwell on past relationships. It's really difficult.

Why write about this?

I really resonate with what sud0nim wrote, simple as.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com