сједините!

Recently, there's been some "union activity" around the company I work for. Some of the lowest-paid and most-public-facing workers have started agitating to join a local union. I'm all for it, I'd join if I could. We were emailed a letter today about it, take a small look. I'm paraphrasing here, I don't want to get sacked lmao

The union reached out to the company to negotiate on behalf of the workers. Please know that we are committed to continuing to engage with all our employees directly, and that we can do this most readily without union involvement.

I dunno fam, I think the company has a morale problem. What a joke. The company is basically a monopoly, especially in the city. Obviously, if the company was effectively "engaging with employees" directly, there wouldn't be a push towards unionization, would there?

The union had a brief protest at an office, which created an unprofessional environment, so we're looking at our options to kick them out (so we can more readily extract more value from you, the worker)

I sincerely hope they go make more noise in more places. I like the people I work with, but I've come to dislike the company I work for.

Anyway, I'm interested in seeing how this all plays out. I'm kinda surprised that it's gotten to this point (although I'm still pretty new yet.) I'm also a little wary of modern unions, as I'm not a leftist or progressive or whatever. There's good reason to organize, but I'm not interested in mostly-symbolic "resolutions" or the weird grievance politics that have become the zeitgeist. Improving the economic conditions of workers is what I'm interested in first and foremost. Inflation is out of control and fuel prices are skyrocketing — deal with the systems that cause this insane anti-life shit and we'll solve other problems as a natural consequence (probably).

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com