Eastern Liturgical Colors

Inspired by ~adou's post at tilde.club, I've written something about liturgical colors in the Eastern Orthodox tradition.

Liturgical Colors by ~adou

Strictly speaking, the canons only require a festal and non-festal set of vestments, i.e. liturgical colors are not as emphasized as they are in the West. Some parishes don't change colors throughout the year, instead sticking to the festal/non-festal distinction. However the church I attend, like many others (especially those following the Slavic tradition), does have a cycle of colors throughout the year.

Some of this info comes from my own experience at various Orthodox churches, and some of it comes from an OrthodoxWiki article which goes into a lot more detail than I did about the different customs.

Liturgical Colors -- OrthodoxWiki (accessed 2022-04-03)

Some examples of the colors

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com