🙄 at work; strong opinions about user interface design

Friday, February 18th, 2022AD

Hey again,

I got some disappointing news at work today. They want me to go to the other office across town and work there for a week. It's not that bad, but I resent how I was asked. My boss's boss had about 4 conversations with me this past week, in which he tried to manipulate me into saying 'yes' to working across town for a month. I understand that he may not have had all the information and that the company is in a bit of a bind staffingwise, but I would have appreciated his being more upfront about all this. I'll give it a week, see what I think.

I've started reading Olia Lialina's 'Turing Complete User', and it's really got me thinking about the computer interfaces I've been using at (and not at) work. She's got some really good things to say, like how avoiding the term "user" in reference to people using computers has the potential to strip a person of his rights as a user. I like what she says about how 'invisible computing' creates the problem of 'invisible users', who are easily ignored by companies and developers who want to create an 'experience', rather than a system. You can buy a print copy or download a PDF of the book here:

Turing Complete User at Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg/arthistoricum.net [WWW] 📖

I have a copy of Sim City 2000 on CD-ROM that I should try out again. The Windows version was so much better than the DOS version. 🏙

That's all I have for now. See you soon 😄

~eph

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com