Some small updates

Saturday, February 12, 2022AD ~@153

Hey Gemini,

I feel like I need to find something creative to do. The last post I made was pretty mopey, but sometimes that's ok. I don't want to make it a habit though.

I updated the CSS today for the Web version of my gemlog here at smol.pub, but if you're reading this though Gemini, you won't notice.

The 2022 Winter Olympics are going on right now. They're pretty cool, but I wonder about the honesty of the hosts, i.e. the government of China. Ах, и русская атлетка (возможно) давала наркотики в Олимпиаде.

I'm going to take a Koine Greek class soon, which will be very interesting. The teacher sent out an alphabet chart, which I (of course 😅) re-typeset through XeLaTeX. I'm excited to learn the alphabet, though I was a little surprised that there are six different graphemes for [i]: ι, η, υ, ει, οι, υι.

I still miss being in a linguistics-saturated¹ environment. The Greek class might help a little with that 🙂.

I've been listening to Romanian folk and folk-adjacent music all day today. Zdob și Zdub, Fanfare Ciocârlia, Ro-Mania from 2004, some weird experimental French sârba, și așa mai departe. That music is great for driving, but be aware that it's really easy to go 90mph without realizing while listening to it on the highway. I need to do more Romanian on Duolingo. Maybe I should set my phone to Romanian too (I won't understand anything lol).

---

¹ ooh, potential geminate consonant — something like /lɪŋgwɪstɪkssæt͡ʃjɝe͡ɪtɪd/

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com