Fonts and font rendering

Wednesday, February 9th

Hi Gemini,

I like fonts. They give character to what you're reading like how someone's voice goes character to speech. Recently, I've been trying to get my (Windows) work laptop to render fonts better. Right now it renders them somewhere between blurry and hazy. I found some CSS for an extension in my browser that supposedly replicates Mac OS font rendering. I'm not sure how accurate it actually is, but it does look better.

Work was good today, nothing out of the ordinary to report. I listened to Zdob și Zdub and processed financial reports. The lead singer has such a thick Moldovan accent lol

Fighting with Lagrange (again) 🪐

Perhaps I'm doing it wrong; Lagrange's fontpack system seems really simple but I can't get it to work right. I installed more fonts — but they weren't the proper size, they were much too big. So I messed with the scaling, and reinstalled the fonts, looked at different capsules, &c &c &c. Turns out that I had actually zoomed in to compensate for a font that was much too small.

reeeeee 🐸

General feelings of disappointment

Been feeling disappointed recently, not about anything in particular, just disappointed. I don't hate my job (but it is work, not play 🤷).

I feel like I haven't gone anywhere outside of:

for the past couple of weeks. My excuse has been "oh, I'm getting used to a new job, I can't go and do stuff," but that's lame. There's a Super Bowl party I'm going to on Sunday, so that'll be fun.

Single

Some of this disappointment (depression?) definitely is from the fact that I'm single, and I'd rather not be single, but now's not the right time. This is in the midst of my friends having kids and all my cöworkers being married — which aren't good reasons to beat myself up over not being at that place in life yet.

Psalm 69

O God, be attentive unto helping me; O Lord, make haste to help me,
Let them be shamed and confounded that seek after my soul,
Let them be turned back and brought to shame that desire evils against me,
Let them be turned back straightaway in shame that say unto me: Well done! Well done!
Let them be glad in Thee all that seek after Thee, O God, and let them that love Thy salvation say continually: The Lord be magnified.
But as for me, I am poor and needy; O God, come to mine aid.
My helper and deliverer art Thou, O Lord; make no long tarrying.
Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
Both now and ever and unto ages of ages, amen.
Alleluia, alleluia, alleluia, glory to Thee, O God,
Alleluia, alleluia, alleluia, glory to Thee, O God,
Alleluia, alleluia, alleluia, glory to Thee, O God.

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com