Politics; How yesterday was

Wednesday, January 26th, 2022AD ~@296

Hey,

I've been thinking about political content on Gemini. A few times now I've drafted posts about my political views but have been reluctant to post them. Instead of posting them, however, I think I'll explain why I haven't and my philosophy regarding poasts about politics.

Why I haven't posted about politics

Honestly, there are a few reasons:

I don't need to

Gemini does not seem like an inherently political space (and no, I don't want to hear that everything is political.) I don't want to turn Gemini into a low-tech, low bandwith Twitter/fediverse/whatever stand-in. I'd rather blog here, and not about politics unless I have to.

I don't want to

I have better things to do than rehash my opinions or give a spicy take every time some "breaking news" comes out.

You (probably) don't want me to

I'll give you an overview of my politics:

not left
not right
just don't like (american) liberals

I'll leave it at that. Gemini is pseudonymous; real people are behind each capsule and page, and I don't want to unecessarily cause offense or be *that guy*. More often than not, if I disagree with someone, I visit a different page.

Anyway, let's move on.

Yesterday was nice

I got a lot of work done at work, I had a haircut and a nice beer, and I feel generally content. I made the mistake of logging into Twitter for the first time in months (thence the previous nonsense about politics).

I like what I do for work (kinda, it's just a job tbh,) but I wish it was in my field. I really miss being in a linguistics-saturated environment. I caught myself drawing syntax trees in my head while proofreading a letter I was about to mail. At the very least I can listen to podcasts as I work, which is a very enjoyable thing.

Windows is weird

I think I've written about this before, but MS Windows is weird. I find myself instinctually reaching for a commandline, only to remember that Windows won't work like I expect and I might freak out my cöworkers. Also, it's $CurrentYear+whatever and Windows Explorer still doesn't have tabbed file management. Also, the registry?? No rolled-up or iconified windows?? What's going on, Microsoft?

Thanks for reading, even through whatever the first part was. I hope to post more soon, though sometimes it feels like I'm in a holding pattern and like life hasn't really started. Also it's @320 and I have to go to sleep now, g'night 😴

~eph

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com