YKK, melancholy, and Thanksgiving

Saturday, November 27th, 2021AD

Hey,

I've been reading Yokohama Kaidashi Kikō (YKK, 'Yokohama Shopping Trip') and feeling kinda melancholy about life. Don't misunderstand, I'm not *sad* as such, just a little melancholy. YKK is slow-paced, well-illustrated, and reflects this sense of *loss* and accepting said loss that's hard to describe in words. It's about a robot named Alpha who runs a coffeeshop in Japan after some unspecified ecological collapse. Sea levels rose, seasons are harder to differentiate from each other, but Earth is peaceful and people are happily living simpler lives. It makes me miss riding my bike along the river at uni, watching the sun set and thinking about syntax and phonology and my now-ex-gf. The manga makes me a little lonely. It's fun to talk over discord with my friends or get on video chats, but it's not the same as being with friends in the same room.

Thanksgiving

My family celebrated Thanksgiving with friends the other day. It was wonderful. We grilled two turkeys for everyone and gave away lots of leftovers. We drank good wine and spent good time with good friends. In fact, the wine we drank was the same that I brought back from Chicago!

What's next?

I wonder, do I look forward too often? What should I spend my energy on? Am I too busy, even now? Or am I wasting time? What am I waiting for?

These are the questions I ask myself, and these are the questions I have to answer for myself.

I guess it's time to get back to applying for jobs again.

Bring my soul out of prison O Lord, that I may praise Thy name!
Принести душу моју из тјурму, Господу, же ја могу хвалити име Твоје!

🏠 Home
📯 Posts

📧 Email me!

caustic.talus.0q (at) icloud.com